Auto Insurance Laws in Idaho
Here are some Idaho auto insurance laws that all drivers should be aware of:
Idaho is a faulty auto insurance state
Idaho is a mistaken state. This means that in the event of an accident involving two or more vehicles, the driver found to be at fault must pay the medical bills for all parties involved. This is different from no-fault situations where each driver bills their insurance for medical costs, regardless of fault.
Consequences of Driving Without Insurance in Idaho
Drivers without car insurance in Idaho may face the following consequences:
- Driving license suspension
- Fines of up to $75 for the first offense and up to $1,000 for subsequent offenses within five years
- A prison sentence of up to six months if you are caught driving without insurance more than once in five years
Minimum requirements for coverage in Idaho
All drivers in Idaho must carry at least the following insurance coverage:
Bodily injury liability coverage
Drivers must carry at least:
- $25,000 to cover bodily injury liability for each person
- $50,000 to cover bodily injury liability for each accident
Property damage liability coverage
Additionally, drivers must carry a minimum of $15,000 for property damage liability coverage.
Covering uninsured and uninsured drivers
Idaho requires its drivers to carry uninsured and uninsured motorist coverage in the same amounts as the bodily injury liability coverage listed above. This begins if the policyholder is injured by an uninsured driver or a driver who does not have sufficient insurance to cover all damages.
How to get cheap car insurance in Idaho
Drivers looking to get the cheapest car insurance in Idaho should do the following:
- Shop around: Each company has its own algorithm for determining risks, which is why drivers get different rates for each company. Take a half hour to get quotes from a few different companies and compare them side by side to see which car insurance company offers the best deal.
- Get all possible discounts: While insurance companies automatically apply many discounts to drivers’ premiums, there are some drivers who have to sign up. For example, driver monitoring program discounts typically require policyholder approval. Those who want to be rewarded for their good leadership might consider this.
- Choose a higher discount rate: Deductibles are the out-of-pocket costs drivers pay when they file a claim. Choosing a higher discount usually lowers your monthly premiums.
Other things to consider when looking for auto insurance in Idaho
Here are some other things drivers should consider when shopping for auto insurance in Idaho:
Minimum coverage in Idaho is below average
Idaho requires its drivers to have $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage and $50,000 per accident, plus $15,000 in property damage liability coverage. This is sometimes written as 25/50/15 coverage.
It is slightly below average. Many other states require their drivers to carry at least 25/50/25 coverage. This provides a little extra protection for drivers if they cause an accident that damages someone else’s property. Without liability coverage for property damage, policyholders could end up paying the rest of the damages themselves.
Minimum coverage does not protect the driver’s vehicle
Those seeking to protect their vehicles after an accident should add comprehensive collision coverage. It is not required by state law, but many lenders require it from drivers who have a lease or loan agreement on their cars.
Collision coverage pays for the policyholder’s car repair after an accident with another vehicle or a single car accident, even if the policyholder is at fault. Comprehensive coverage takes care of weather damage, theft, vandalism, and animal vehicle collisions, among other things.