bad Credit

2022 Best Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas

2022 Best Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas
Written by Publishing Team

kansas auto insurance laws

All drivers should familiarize themselves with the Kansas auto insurance laws:

Kansas is a fault-free auto insurance state

Kansas is an error-free auto insurance state. This means that in the event of a multi-car accident resulting in injuries, each driver bills his or her insurance company. This differs from error cases, where a driver found to be at fault in the accident pays the medical bills for all parties involved.

Consequences of Driving Without Insurance in Kansas

Driving without car insurance in Kansas can lead to:

  • Fines ranging from $300 to $1,000 for a first offense and $800 to $2,500 for a subsequent offense within three years
  • Imprisonment for up to six months
  • Driving license suspension
  • Vehicle registration suspension

Minimum requirements for coverage in Kansas

Drivers in Kansas must carry at least the following coverage:

Bodily injury liability coverage

Drivers must have at least:

  • $25,000 to cover bodily injury liability for each person
  • $50,000 to cover bodily injury liability for each accident

Property damage liability coverage

Drivers must also carry at least $25,000 for property damage liability coverage.

Covering uninsured and uninsured drivers

Drivers need to cover the uninsured and uninsured motorist in the same amounts as the bodily injury liability coverage listed above. Uninsured driver coverage applies if the policy holder is exposed to an uninsured driver. Uninsured driver coverage helps the policyholder pay for the remainder of the damage if it is sustained by a driver without sufficient insurance to pay for it in full.

Personal injury protection (PIP)

Kansas drivers must carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP). The minimum amount required by law is:

  • $4,500 per person to cover medical expenses
  • $900 per month for one year for disability/loss of income
  • $25 per day for home services
  • $2,000 for funeral, burial, or cremation expenses
  • $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses

How to get cheap car insurance in Kansas

Drivers looking for the cheapest car insurance in Kansas should try the following:

  • Compare prices from several companies: Each insurance company assesses risk differently, which is why they all offer different quotes. Drivers should compare prices from several companies before settling on one.
  • See all available discounts: Most insurance companies apply discounts to applicant premiums automatically, but there are some discounts that drivers must sign up for. For example, driver monitoring programs usually require the consent of the policy holder. It is worth considering for those who want to be rewarded for good driving habits.
  • Choose a higher discount rate: Deductibles are the costs paid by the policy holder in the event of an accident. Choosing a higher one usually lowers the premiums.

Other things to consider when looking for auto insurance in Kansas

Here are some other things to consider when shopping for auto insurance in Kansas:

Minimum state coverage may not be enough

Low cost car insurance can be attractive, but it can also lead to huge financial problems in the event of an accident. If the damages exceed the limits of their policy, the driver must pay the remainder out of his own pocket. This can easily cost thousands or even tens of thousands of dollars. This is why it is often best to buy more than the minimum government coverage whenever possible.

The minimum state coverage does not include any protection for the policyholder’s vehicle

Those who want to help pay for their vehicle repairs after an accident will need to add comprehensive collision coverage. Collision coverage applies when the driver has an accident with another vehicle. Comprehensive coverage covers damages related to vehicle crashes, bad weather, theft, vandalism, and more.

About the author

Publishing Team

Leave a Comment