Josh Heupel Co-Winner of the 2021 Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Award

Josh Heupel Co-Winner of the 2021 Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Award
Written by Publishing Team

Knoxville, Tenn – After steering Tennessee football into a remarkable transformation that saw seven wins and multiple school records, head coach Josh Hubble The co-winner of the Steve Spurrier Coach of the Year Award from the American Football Writers Association has been announced, the FWAA and Chris Doering Mortgage announced Monday night.

Presented annually to the best head coach in his first year at a school, Heupel shares the award with fellow SEC East East coach Shane Beamer of South Carolina. Heupel becomes the first recipient of the award twice. He claimed it in 2018 at the UCF after leading the Knights to 12 wins, a Fiesta Bowl berth and a No. 11 ranking in his first season.

It’s the 20y The successive season in which the first coach award was presented, although it is the first time that the award bears the same name, Spurrier. The award is sponsored by a former University of Florida player and SEC Doering Network Analyst of Chris Doering Mortgage.

“Well, there are two coaches this year because they are very deserving,” Spurrier said. “Before the start of the season, their teams were selected alongside Vandy at the bottom of the league, 12 and 13, but instead of gloom and agony, they took their players and improved every game and finished 7-6.”

After setting the record 3-7 a year earlier, Tennessee was selected to finish fifth in the SEC East standings in Heupel’s first debut season. However, the Volunteers won three of their last four games of the regular season, finished third in the SEC East with a 4-4 mark and scored seven wins to secure a berth on the bowl while playing one of the toughest college football tables. UT was one of only four teams each to have faced in the College Football Playoff.

27y A head coach in Tennessee history, Hubble is one of only five Volvo head coaches in the last 80 years to have won seven or more games in his first season. UT broke eight single-season team records under its watch, including points (511), total offensive yards (6,174), touchdowns (67), points after touchdown (67), first touchdown totals (316), first dash (164) ), the least number of interceptions thrown (3) and the passing efficiency (167.10).

For the fourth year in a row, Hoebel’s coaching team ranked first in the top ten nationally in both scoring and overall attack. The Vols put in 39.3 yards per game (seventh in FBS) and 474.9 yards per game (ninth in FBS). That was a huge increase in his first season, from 108y and 102second abbreviation Nationally, respectively, a year ago. Defensively, Tennessee had 102 tackles to lose, and was a good second in the SEC and seventh in the FBS.

National quarterback champion in 2000, Heupel has maximized development in the most important position in the field throughout his career. He coached several Heisman Cup winners in Oklahoma and quickly developed the Vol . alumni transfer Hendon Hooker In one of the most complete signal callers in the country.

In his first season, Hooker broke school records for one season for achievement percentage (68.0) and passing efficiency (181.41). He led the Securities and Exchange Commission and ranked third nationally in passing proficiency en route to the semifinals for the Davey O’Brien Award.

Heupel and Hooker return in 2022 for the Vols, who opened the season on September 3 against Ball State at Neyland Stadium. Existing season ticket holders can renew their tickets for the 2022 campaign now by visiting Fans wishing to purchase new season tickets can also do so at or by calling the ticket office at (865) 946-7000.

All First Year FWAA Steve Spurrier Award Winners
2002 – Tyrone Willingham, Notre Dame
2003 – Steve Craggthorpe, Tulsa
2004 – Mike Price, YouTube
2005 – Steve Spurrier, South Carolina
2006 – Chris Petersen, Boise State
2007 – Jeff Jagodzinsky, Boston College
2008 – Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech
2009 – Chip Kelly, Oregon
2010 – Jimbo Fisher, Florida
2011 – Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia
2012 – Urban Mayer, Ohio
2013 – Joss Malzan, Auburn
2014 – Brian Harsin, Boise State
2015 – Tom Hermann, Houston
2016 – Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech; Clay Hilton, University of Southern California
2017 – Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma
2018 – Josh Hubble, UCF
2019 – Ryan Day, Ohio
2020 – Carl Durrell, Colorado
2021 – Josh Hubble, TN; Shane Beamer, South Carolina

About the author

Publishing Team

Leave a Comment